Silence (Prayer)

Prayers of Meditation
Silence, they say, is the voice of complicity.
But silence is impossible.
Silence screams.
Silence is a message,
just as doing nothing is an act.

Let who you are ring out and resonate
in every word and every deed.
Yes, become who you are.
There’s no sidestepping your own being
or your own responsibility.

What you do is who you are.
You are your own comeuppance.
You become your own message.

You are the message.

prison writings – my life is my sun dance – leonard peltier

I’ve been doing something a little different with prayer.  I’m still maintaining my prayer binder, and I’m still using World Prayers for material.  Now I’ve added a link to it in the side bar (or whatever that’s called), and I’ve added the prayers as text on the side.  I rotate them on here, and I rotate them in the binder.  I’ve tried to get into the habit of looking at the binder in the morning.  I take it home with me every day, and back to work every day.

I pull it out at difficult moments and read it or copy the prayers at work.  I look at them at around noon most days.

I’ve also struggled at times with praying for individual people.  It’s a popular and common suggestion in AA to pray for individuals you have trouble with.  They say to ask God to give this person all the good things you want in life for yourself.  I have done it, at times, and it just hasn’t resonated with me.

I’ve also generated, at times, a kind of prayer list like they do at church.  I may list the people I’m concerned about and why.  Like this one is sick, this one is looking for a job.

What I’ve done for the past few weeks is I’ve listed on paper all the people I’m concerned about sort of in alphabetical order, and I’ve concentrated on praying for one at a time for a few days.  I’ve rewritten the list at least weekly and rotated the person on top, and that’s who I concentrate my prayers on.

And really, I’m still not doing this much, but I am doing it more than I did in the past.  I’m not trying to memorize them the way I had been, but I’m writing them here and in the binder, and reading them here more when I look at the blog.  So I hope they’re getting in.

The one I pasted on this post is interesting to me because so many times, in so many ways, and especially over the last two years and in direct response to my new difficulties, I have chosen to be silent.

Leave a Reply

