. . . the proof that love freely given . . . (Step Twelve continued)

 . . . the proof that love freely given surely brings a full return . . .

I’m just wondering if there is a choice.  I mean it only makes sense that in order to receive love, you have to give it.  Maybe the fact that we are (most of us are) loved so much and so freely when we’re born and haven’t done anything to deserve it spoils us for the rest of our lives.

The love in AA is a special kind I certainly don’t see it anywhere else.  That we have to give it away to keep it is a fact, but it’s also a joy and I’m sure, for me, good practice for the rest of my life outside of AA.  People in AA (most of them) genuinely like to help newcomers and people who are struggling.  It is a corner-stone for the success of AA and I’m glad every time we applaud someone’s sobriety.  There were times when I couldn’t stop drinking that I was jealous of the success of others.  Aside from that I have always been glad and, as my years pile up higher, I’m more and more glad to be in the presence of people who have more time than me.

About Lydia

Friend of Bill since 1984.
This entry was posted in alcoholics anonymous, Step 12 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to . . . the proof that love freely given . . . (Step Twelve continued)

  1. Bob says:

    The steps teach us how to become humble people which I think is one reason why the love in AA is a special kind of love. If one becomes humble and stays humble one can not sit in judgement of others. Humility is something I need to work on every day so I can keep that love, so that I can give it away. Thank you for reminding me of that love.

Leave a Reply

